Oyster Bay Public School

Each For All

Telephone02 9528 7525


Sport as an aspect of the school curriculum is an integral part of an individual's development, requiring physical involvement in organised games or activities with an accepted set of rules. Participation, enjoyment and skill development are essential features of a successful school sport program.

The Oyster Bay Public School community is characterised by a strong tradition of support for participation in a variety of competitive and recreational sporting activities. As role models, teachers and parents bring enthusiasm, skill, interest and life-long involvement to sport.

The culture within the school community is for children to participate to the best of their abilities, aiming for ‘personal best', whilst at all times displaying a commitment to fair play, team work and sportsmanship.

Primary School Sport Association (PSSA)

Oyster Bay Public School provides the opportunity for students to be involved in inter-school sport competitions. As a NSW public school we benefit from the opportunities for shared activities and competitions with other schools, coordinated by school sport associations. In 2013, the children were able to try out for the following sporting teams.

Summer PSSA (Term 1)

  • Boys senior softball, boys junior kanga cricket and girls junior and senior touch football. 

Winter PSSA

  • Boys senior and junior rugby league, girls senior and junior netball and mixed senior and junior soccer. 

Summer PSSA (Term 4)

  • Boys senior cricket, boys junior T-ball, girls senior softball.

Students participating in PSSA sport are required to complete, and abide by, our code of conduct. For more details, see the Premier's Sporting Challenge.

Our sport houses are:

  • Green: Cook
  • Blue: Flinders
  • Red: Sturt
  • Yellow: Phillip.

Year 6 sport house captains are:


  • Captains - Christopher German and Ally Harper
  • Vice - Brock Wells and Paris Barnard


  • Captains - Joshua Bishopp and Mia Peters
  • Vice - Jonathan Goodall and Zara Post


  • Captains - Sidney Mulholland and Sam Rose
  • Vice - Zac Matterson and Isabel Hodge


  • Captains - Tyler Murray and Samantha Walker
  • Vice - Kiara Johnston and Jaspar Ville

Winning houses

Year 2012:

  • Sturt - Winning house
  • Bridie Newton - Sport girl champion
  • Liam Thompson - Sport boy champion

Year 2011:

  • Sturt - Winning house
  • Livvy Wills & Rebecca Janes - Sport girl champion
  • Ben Steele - Sport boy champion

Year 2010:

  • Phillip - Winning house
  • Jacqui Gordon - Sport girl champion
  • Jacob Till - Sport boy champion

Year 2009:

  • Phillip - Winning house
  • Tiana Williams - Sport girl champion
  • Ben Wilcox - Sport boy champion

Year 2008:

  • Phillip - Winning house
  • Hannah Rose - Sport girl champion
  • Jack Collins - Sport boy champion

Year 2007:

  • Cook - Winning house
  • Sophie Gollan - Sport girl champion
  • Jake Mackay - Sport boy champion

Year 2006:

  • Flinders - Winning house
  • Nicole Janes - Sport girl champion
  • Cohen Simmons-Smith & Brendan Mitchell - Sport boy champion

Year 2005:

  • Phillip - Winning house
  • Nicola Rutty - Sport girl champion
  • Anthony Sawdy - Sport boy champion

Year 2004:

  • Cook - Winning house
  • Kate Emmanuel - Sport girl champion
  • Brendan Sexty - Sport boy champion

Year 2003:

  • Sturt - Winning house
  • Kelsie Westwood - Sport girl champion
  • Jeffery Cole - Sport boy champion

Year 2002:

  • Sturt - Winning house
  • Kate Moyle - Sport girl champion
  • Brendan Hol - Sport boy champion

Year 2001:

  • Phillip - Winning house
  • Sally Page - Sport girl champion
  • Tom Westwood - Sport boy champion

Year 2000:

  • Sturt - Winning house
  • Holly Martin - Sport girl champion
  • Adam Alijagic - Sport boy champion